In support of Children in Need, students from The Elstree UTC and Hertswood Academy provide expert commentary during their quest to find Pudsey Bear at the BBC studios.

We’re going on a Bear Hunt

13 November 2015

It’s Children in Need and this year School Reporters have been given exclusive access to the preparations for the live show being broadcast from Elstree Studios.

Alfie and Shannon, from The Elstree UTC, and Hua Ling and Matthew from Hertswood Academy were on a mission to track down its biggest star…Pudsey Bear.

Click here to watch the video

Meller Educational Trust Celebration Event 2015!

Celebration! 2015

Students with David Meller and Peter Watkins

Each year the Meller Educational Trust and its schools celebrates the outstanding achievements of individual students. On the 1st July staff and students enjoyed a wonderful day of celebration in the beautiful surroundings of Merchant Taylors’ Hall. We were warmly welcomed by our host Peter Watkins (Master of the Merchant Taylors’ Company 2014/15) and joined by our Sponsor David Meller. Top quality musical entertainment was provided by students from each school and really added to the exciting atmosphere.

Celebration! 2015

Celebration! 2015

Celebration! 2015

Celebration! 2015

Awards were given to 10 students from each school, 50 students in total, who have shown outstanding achievement in the areas of aspiration, compassion, excellence, conduct and determination.

We are very fortunate to have such hard-working and committed students in our schools but this of course makes it incredibly difficult to choose just 10 students from each.

All of our award winners are valued members of our schools and excellent role models for others to aspire to.

The Aspiration Award is given to students who have demonstrated exceptional drive to achieve the highest levels. They have shown true commitment to their studies and a determination to succeed. The awards went to the following students:

Chloe Perkins

Katie Appiah

Hertswood Academy
Toni Howard

Lorenzo Bilal

The Elstree UTC
Daniel Baulch

Niamh Burns

The Bushey Academy
Andrei Fodor

Anuj Adhikari

The Watford UTC
Lauren Salmon

Heather Moss

Marriotts School

The Compassion Award is given to students who have shown kindness and compassion to their fellow students and a willingness to support the whole school community. The award winners were:

Katie Winslade

Alexandra Cazacu

Hertswood Academy
Mason Barry

Grace Hynds

The Elstree UTC
Kayleigh Morgan

Daria Puiu

The Bushey Academy
Laura Freeman

George Calnan

The Watford UTC


Bethany Todd

Jack Humby

Marriotts School

The Excellence Award is given to students who have shown consistent hard work and determination to maintain high standards in all areas. They demonstrate the importance of a positive “can do” attitude. This year the awards went to:

Jessica New

Marius Dragomir

Hertswood Academy
Ruth Saunders

Daniel Carmel

The Elstree UTC
Sophie Burns

Daniel Oakey

The Bushey Academy
Tom Lish

Nhyoumila Tuladhar

The Watford UTC
Kate Brown

Rachel Brown

Marriotts School

The Conduct Award is given to students who have demonstrated enthusiasm for learning, respect and consideration for others and a positive attitude. This year the awards went to:

Jerome Badu

Joe Graber

Hertswood Academy
Daisy Lloyd

Emilia Dellegrotti

The Elstree UTC
Michael Haines

Nathan Moukuta

The Bushey Academy
Cydney Ring

Callum Peters

The Watford UTC
Charlotte Ager

Sophie Jones

Marriotts School

The Determination Award is given to students who have shown incredible resilience in sometimes difficult circumstances, an unwavering focus and commitment to always do their best. All of the award winners demonstrate a positive attitude to challenge and they never give up! Our award winners were:

Katelyn Barnes

Dayna Welch

Hertswood Academy
Andrew Marmo

Nellie Kronig-Hughes

The Elstree UTC
Louiza Blagden

Jack McHugh

The Bushey Academy
Nash Dickinson

Hannah Ferguson

The Watford UTC
Cameron Potasnick

Paige Gayts

Marriotts School

We would like to give our thanks to these very talented students for providing excellent musical entertainment:

From The Bushey Academy

Jade Ralph singing

“Think of Me” from Phantom of the Opera

From The Watford UTC

Anna Fitz – Violinist

Tom Lish – Bass guitarist

Playing a rendition of Anaesthesia  by Metallica

From Elstree UTC

Toni Howard and Daniella Bernard

Performing: “Dear No One” by Tori Kelly

From Hertswood Academy

Sam Wakiel Tojar playing

‘Prelude and Fugue in C Minor’ from The Well-Tempered Clavier by J S Bach

From Marriotts School

Holly Palfry

Singing “I Dreamed a Dream” from Les Miserables

Celebration! 2015

Celebration! 2015



The first Meller Educational Trust Celebration Event!

On Monday 30th June 2014 we enjoyed the first MET Celebration Event.




The evening was sponsored  by David Meller  with  kind permission of James Clappison MP and was arranged to mark the exceptional achievements of students from the Meller Educational Trust. The venue of The Attlee Suite, Portcullis House, Westminster was perfect for the event and the award categories were chosen because of the values the Trust holds as important.

Award Categories

Aspiration Students who aim high, want to succeed, set high targets for self. Will break through glass ceilings. Compassion Students who thinks of others, are socially aware, committed to the community-school or local. Excellence Students who achieve at a very high level. This is in the classroom or the arts or sport. Conduct Exceptionally good behaviour, polite, show respect for others. Determination Students who succeed “against the odds”.

Our first Award winners:

Aspiration Award Year 10 Sophie Andrews, Charis Leath, Mirela Shkupi

Aspiration Award Year 12 Rhyanna Alexander-Davis, Camille Ramos, Lana Al Nusair

Compassion Award Year 10 Jamie Linton, Harry Chandler, Chloe Woodfield   

Compassion Award Year 12 Megan Ratcliff, Dorothy Swikidisa, George Cook   

Excellence Award Year 10 Zoe Mansfield-Nieberg, Adelina Frumuselu, Joseph Nunes   

Excellence Award Year 12 McKinley Bex, Daniel Odrinski, David Nichols   

Conduct Award Year 10 Colleen Gorman, Katie Donald, Celine-Joy Ilaban   

Conduct Award Year 12 Pacha Tehrani, Chloe Halladey, Francesca Smyth   

Determination Award Year 10 Taryn Peltz, Nejmi Sadak, Jenna Ward   

Determination Award Year 12 Jared Goldblatt ,Gabriella Conlon, Sophie Macken


Student Leadership

Also during the Summer Term 2014 students from five schools came together with primary school pupils and undergraduates from the University of Hertfordshire. The focus was on leadership and co-operation and was led by staff from Humanutopia.

The University of Herts was a fantastic venue and we are looking forward to a second leadership event during 2015.


WP_20140611_016 copy