Posted on July 06, 2017

Another Wonderful MET Celebration Event!

On the 27th June 2017, students, parents, staff, governors and trustees enjoyed an exciting afternoon of celebration in the beautiful, historic surroundings of Merchant Taylors’ Hall in London’s Threadneedle Street.

Awards were given to 10 students from each school, 70 students in total, who have shown outstanding achievement in the areas of aspiration, compassion, excellence, conduct and determination.

We are very fortunate to have such hard-working and committed students in our schools but this of course makes it incredibly difficult to choose just 10 students from each.

All of our award winners are valued members of our schools and excellent role models for others to aspire to.

The Aspiration Award is given to students who have demonstrated exceptional drive to achieve the highest levels. They have shown true commitment to their studies and a determination to succeed. The awards went to the following students:

Hannah Sullivan

Bianca Merlusca

Hertswood Academy

Jasmine Nuttall

Ruth Saunders

The Elstree UTC

Stephen Dickens

Rebecca Russell

The Bushey Academy

Laurajane Watson

Cian O’Sullivan

The Watford UTC

Thiline Herath Abeysinghe

Ryan Newman

Francis Combe Academy

Elizabeth Vila

Creus Panagiota Spyrou

The Harefield Academy

Renars Fazlutdinovs

Emily Parrott

Global Academy


The Compassion Award is given to students who have shown kindness and compassion to their fellow students and a willingness to support the whole school community. The award winners were: 

Jason Curran

Omar Guirdham-Habbouchi

Hertswood Academy

Lola Aggio

Drew Topping

The Elstree UTC

Eleri Peak

Aled Roberts

The Bushey Academy

Kaveesha Beranagoda-Gamage

Christabel Boahen

The Watford UTC

Pardiss Soleymani

Joy Ramafalo

Francis Combe Academy

Layla Dundon

Jessica Walsh

The Harefield Academy

Sabina Macenauerova

Annette Asiedu

Global Academy

The Excellence Award is given to students who have shown consistent hard work and determination to maintain high standards in all areas. They demonstrate the importance of a positive “can do” attitude. This year the awards went to:

Samuel Perlmutter

Raisa Hayat

Hertswood Academy

Wren Turner

Daisy Lloyd

The Elstree UTC

Bhavini Patel

Asha Sharma

The Bushey Academy

Marcus Lane

Aaron Masters

The Watford UTC

Ellis Wilson

Tilly Darwood

Francis Combe Academy

Stylianos Spyrou

Alexander Lafleur

The Harefield Academy

Tiasha Chouhan

Andrew Bottcher

Global Academy


The Conduct Award is given to students who have demonstrated enthusiasm for learning, respect and consideration for others and a positive attitude. This year the awards went to:

Aiman Bahloul

Samuel Wilson

Hertswood Academy

Jason Harris

Sean Morrison

The Elstree UTC

Connor Humphreys

Joe Farry

The Bushey Academy

Antonio Botosan

Nadia Murray-Downs

The Watford UTC

Jackson Hardy

Lauren Hutchinson

Francis Combe Academy

Nathan Beckett

Jordan Spencer

The Harefield Academy

Nathan Wellum

Chloe Chibnall

Global Academy


The Determination Award is given to students who have shown incredible resilience in sometimes difficult circumstances, an unwavering focus and commitment to always do their best. All of the award winners demonstrate a positive attitude to challenge and they never give up! Our award winners were:

Urse Bloxham

Sean Greenaway

Hertswood Academy

Jamie McNulty

Ross Green

The Elstree UTC

Lauren Duggan

Charlize Uy

The Bushey Academy

Amelia Richards

Kemi Sosimi

The Watford UTC

Sophie Martindale

Hannah Divall

Francis Combe Academy

Kieran Brennand

Dominic Khan

The Harefield Academy

Pranay Nama

Rosalind Bingham

Global Academy


We would like to give our thanks to these very talented students for providing excellent musical entertainment:


From The Watford UTC

The college band: Ryan Wiggins, Laurajane Watson, Jack Gill, Tom Lish, Elhadji Kouyate

Performing their own composition 'Not tomorrow, but today'

From Global Academy

Darshan Mousavi-Portolan and Blue O'Grady

Performing “True Colours” by Cyndi Lauper


From Elstree UTC

Milli-Rose Rubin and Megan Clarke

Performing “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen


From Hertswood Academy

Nabrissa Badu, Sita Strickland, Justus Badu, Harry Heard

Performing “Hard Times” by Paramore

From The Bushey Academy

Leon Morina

Performing “Watermelon Man" by Herbie Hancock


Francis Combe Academy

The Choir and Band, performing “Let it Be” by The Beatles

Keira Brigden, Katie McCready, Abbey Curtis, Rhys Dibsdale-Hatch, Emmie-Grace Sparks, Jay Desousa, Joy Ramafalo, Luke Hollingshead, Alfie Broom, Ashley Lewis, Ethan Bates